I Need Your Help…..


I am on a reading marathon right now and have finished a few novels this month including a couple of Graphic Novels(Maus and Persepolis). A few P.G. Wodehouse, Kahlil Gibran, Oscar Wilde and am starting Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.

Yesterday I bought 3  more; A Short History of Almost Everything by Bill Bryson, Stephen Fry’s The Ode Less Travelled and collector’s set of The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

Books are, I feel the best medium of entertainment. I have read a lot of classic stuff but still a lot remains to be read. I am making a list of must reads and want you guys to add your suggestions and/or recommendations to the list

My personal favourites are:

  1. A Tale of 2 Cities
  2. The Three Musketeers
  3. Mayor of Caster-bridge
  4. Catch-22
  5. My Family and other animals.
  6. 20 Years later
  7. 10 years after
  8. Man in the Iron Mask
  9. Count of Monte Cristo
  10. The Jungle Book
  11. Great Expectations
  12. Treasure Island
  13. Ivanhoe
  14. Moby Dick
  15. 20,000 Leagues under the Sea
  16. Around the World in 80 Days
  17. Animal Farm
  18. The Godfather
  19. War of the Worlds
  20. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
  21. Invisible Man
  22. Essays of Voltaire
  23. Works of Descartes
  24. Homer’s Iliad and Odysseus
  25. Mahabharata
  26. Divine Comedy
  27. ……..etc (It is a very long list)

My cousin has recommended I Claudius and Claudius the God.

Please add to the list……….

 

Comments
2 Responses to “I Need Your Help…..”
  1. delhizen says:

    History of the sikhs by khushwant singh ( two volumes)- A very good compilation. I loved reading them even though I knew parts of it but still always nice to know and re-read it

    I am currently reading-
    Empire of The Sikhs: The Life and Times of Maharaja Ranjit Singh
    by Patwant Singh and Jyoti M Rai- A well- written book again

    • Prateek says:

      Hmmmmm…..Thanks. Will add them to the must read lists. Though I know a lot about both the topics because I studied in a Sikh School and you know my Mom is a Sikh and Father Punjabi. But will be interesting to read about the history of our culture again.
      My house in school was Maharaja Ranjit Singh….he is definitely a great historic figure. His general Banda Singh Bahadur was also a brave chap……hey can you lend me the books…I will return them in good condition.
      Do you have any suggestions for a good read in Punjabi script?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 916 other followers

