Where there is a WILL ther is a WAY, No matter whatever odds are against you.


Saw this news article in a forum, posted my comments there. Posting the same here along with the news article.
Friday, June 6, 2008 (Khammam, AP)
With hard effort and single-minded devotion, you can make possible what seems impossible.

That is what an 18-year-old has shown in Khammam district of Andhra Pradesh. With not enough to eat, and no money even to burn the midnight oil, in a village with hardly nine hours daily power supply, the boy managed to secure 453rd rank in the IIT entrance exam. However, he has won only half the battle yet.

At Garikapadu village in Khammam district, the IIT entrance rank holder, Narasimha Rao, is a labour under the National Rural Employment Guarantee scheme.

With the daily wage of Rs 80, Narasimha wants to repay dues for borrowing books from a reference library. Even at work, his thoughts revolve around science.

”When I am working in the field also, I think of questions in physics. I just can’t understand how these mobiles work? How the waves travel?” says Narasimha.

Narsimha’s mother Lakshmi can’t tell what exam her son has passed but the labourer parents say their son has made them proud.

”My boy said he would buy me a gas stove to cook after he gets a job. I know he is grown up now. My eyes burn when we burn wood,” says Lakshmi.

Narsimha managed to get coaching in an IIT institute in nearby Vijaywada with the financial support by some elders in this village. Now the 18-year-old has to attend counselling at IIT Madras on June 18, for which he does not even have travel expenses.

”After I am settled in life, I promise to pay back the money. I will be so thankful,” says Narasimha.

If you want to help Narasimha Rao, write to him at the below mentioned address:

Narasimha Rao Magenti
Son of Appaiah
Garikapadu Post and Village
Wyramandal, Khammam District,
Andhra Pradesh Pin-507165

Or you can call him- Mobile No. 9949927498. This number belongs to A Prasad, a resident of the same village.

For online transfer of money – A Prasad, Account No. – 52112028333, SBH Wyra Bank.
Source : http://www.ndtv.com/convergence/ndtv…WEN20080052137

According to me this shows that we do not need reservations to gain higher education. Where there is a will there is a way. I request that the government and the politicians should instead of dividing the nation into castes by making reservations, give scholarships to such students who in spite of all odds reach their goal.

Comments
4 Responses to “Where there is a WILL ther is a WAY, No matter whatever odds are against you.”
  1. Beautiful Mind says:

    i agree with u… keeping caste reservation is just a way to viel our inadequate system… instead of keeping reservation for higher education, why not strengthen our education system right from the prliminary level such that students from all backgrounds get a proper foundation and then compete fairly irrespective of caste.

  2. Panthera Tigris says:

    There was a time when our politicians used to be well educated and well mannered. Nowadays more than half of them are crooks and I doubt whether they have completed their schooling or not.

  3. Jyoti says:

    I picked up the number mentioned in the post and called up asking if I can help the guy in any way.I was told that he is trying to get into IIT Guwahati and he is almost set for now…I couldnt talk to the guy as he was travelling some place.He still needs some 5 to 10K and I left my number with the person I spoke to asking them to call me if they need any monetary help.Thanks for posting this article.Also kindly let me know if you know any other person who needs monetary assistance for education. I will be happy to arrange the same.

  4. Jyoti says:

    Please visit my blog if you wish to leave any messages for me.jyotimankala@blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

