We Can Do It


Terrorism is a major problem in India. The number of blasts and other types of attacks each year are a daily proof. A recent debate on a post by a dear friend Pallavi on her blog regarding this issue, proved that people are frustrated of all this but have also become immune to it. Many are cynical and think that nothing can change. I beg to differ.

They say that bad times don’t last forever. These are bad times for our country. Not only due to the attacks but also because of various other internal matters, I won’t name them since all of you are well informed regarding the current affairs.

Most of us have become silent spectators to everything, unaffected by whatever happens. We talk about the inefficiency of the ruling party and the forces, we write a few blog posts and then we forget, even I am guilty of these crimes. But I don’t want to be silent anymore.

We hear a lot of promises and big talk. It is time we make the change we wish to see. We need to take the initiative and not wait for others.  The country needs us; we can’t turn our backs on her like that. India is on a brink of a revolution. Sooner or later it is bound to happen.

Let us devote an hour each day to make some change. A single person can do little, but if we cooperate and work together, we can create a new India. We can, yes, we can.  May be, I am being an optimistic fool, but I believe in what I say. But before trying to change the world, we need to change ourselves. I have made a beginning. How? I will not write, but my actions will speak. I don’t know whether the results will be positive, I can only hope they will be, but I will do my part.

Everyone knows what the problems are but do not want to dirty their hands. Well someone has to, and I will. We see and hear a lot of things but are afraid to do anything about it. Why? Because we are timid. We can’t afford to be timid anymore. We cannot let a handful of people dictate our lives. We have to rise and not one by one but collectively as one, and the day we do, no one will dare to cross our path.

We have to fight back. We can’t run away anymore. We have only two options, either lead or follow. Which one you choose is up to you, but please get rid of the cynical attitude. I know it is hard. We have been promised promises that have never been fulfilled, but cynicism won’t amount to anything.

I call upon my fellow Indians. Let us unite for a common purpose, forgetting our past differences. Forget that we are Hindus or Sikhs or Muslims, forget that we are Biharis or Punjabis or Marathis or Tamil, and forget that we are OBCs or Dalits or STs. Remember that we are Indians. We have to be united ourselves and believe in the concept of a united India, if we wish these attacks to stop. We are weak internally, even if the GDP shows that our economy is growing. We need to strengthen our foundations, our roots.

We are on paper united under a common flag, but mentally we are not. We need to be united. Miracles happen and this will also happen.

We can do it, yes, we can do it.

Comments
6 Responses to “We Can Do It”
  1. Bikram says:

    HEy come here after a long time..

    Do you really think So this can be done. Cum on is it really a possibility. I can understand your sentiments when you say YEs we can do it, I am postive we can do it. and I am also positive that if the GOVT wants they can put a stop to it for sure, THEY JUST DO NOT WANT TO because all peace hurts them, this way public mind is on such things and they get away with everything.

    And since you say we can do it , for that my friend first we have to change ourself, We have to go and say hello to our enemy first, say hello and shake the hand of the people from whom we have turned our face away, We have to go make friends with all those people whome we have hurt. So basically we have to change ourself.

    Then when we change ourself, then the time will come to take the next step.

    People are cynical because they have been made so by US, I mean we dont take lightly of each others view mentioned on the blog, which is a minor thing, how do you suppose other things to happen.

    So man in the mirror , THAT person needs to change before the change you are talking of will happen…

    Sorry to have taken so much of your space.. I could have written a article he he he

  2. Prateek says:

    Nice to see you again. Your long reply is not an issue, feedbacks are always welcome.
    Yes, I agree that we have to change ourselves first, I even mentioned that in the 5th para of my post. And yes I do believe we can do it and it is a possibility. It is a long and difficult road but it is not endless.

  3. Mayur says:

    Sorry for being completely unfair Prateek. But I’m going to take you on again. You are the ‘nth’ person to say ‘We can do it’. Many came and went. Some gained a personal wealth and some gained publicity. The lucky ones got both. But the common man like me got nothing.

    I think it is time to say ‘We WILL do it.’ and ‘We are doing enough to prevent future attacks.’

    Are we doing enough or are we still only talking?

  4. Prateek says:

    I have decided on something and will let my work do the talking. And then you can decide in which category I fall,
    1) Who gained personal wealth
    2) Who gained publicity
    3) Who gained both
    4) or Who made a difference.

    Yes, we have the potential but we are not doing enough. We can and we will do it.

  5. Mayur says:

    Dont take my comments with a pinch of salt. You know what I mean to say… right?

Leave a Reply

