Kitten Tail


Since the last few days an individual of the feline species has been kind enough to dispense her attentions on me. I have always had dogs around in my house till Toffee’s demise last year, so therefore don’t have much idea to how to deal with this affectionate kitten.

A pair of twins were born 3 weeks ago in our neighbour’s house. One coloured black and white and the other orange and white. The orange and white kitten is more outgoing and is the one who has become a regular visitor to our house. It started a few days ago when I saw her sitting near the garden. The girl was a scared and suspicious yet curious (a trait all felines seem to share). I extended my hand and her curiosity got the better of her.

She came forward slowly and when was certain that I was no threat, she hung on. My left leg became a scratch post and she wrapped herself around it. Moving and scratching her back with it. I tried to take snaps through my mobile but the lady decided that she didn’t want to be clicked and made swipes at the phone. After about half an hour of playing she went her way.

Next day, she was sitting in front of our front gate early in the morning and calling for us to open the door.  Mom and Dad went for a walk and she accompanied them for the complete 45 minutes session. But was not allowed to enter the house.

Today morning, after accompanying the parents for the walk the female feline was adamant on entering the house. She stood in front of the door for a little longer and when we didn’t open, she entered the house via the Kitchen chimney. She was stuck on the shelf and I was woken up at 5 in the morning to rescue her.

She jumped happily onto my shoulders and later we treated her to a bowl of milk and bread. She is quite a small ball of fur; therefore her stomach was full after taking 7-8 licks from the bowl. She spent half an hour on my lap “meowing” away looking at me (couldn’t figure out what she was saying) or purring while scratching her back with my legs.

I will wait and see what happens. Maybe this is the beginning of a new friendship.

If she does decide to stay at our place, she will require a name.

Any suggestions?

P.S. Will publish the snaps as soon as I am able to take some. Right now, she doesn’t know how to keep still, and somehow she mistrusts cameras.

Comments
One Response to “Kitten Tail”

Leave a Reply

