I……


For the “I” day I am going to write a short message. For long our education system has laid stress on knowledge from books and basically the three R’s. It was alright before but I think we need to have a change.  Education should not be limited to cramming facts from the books or learning languages. It should Inspire strong Ideals. It should allow the student to go beyond the limits of his/her Imagination and go deep into ocean of wisdom. Use it to Improvise and Innovate. Force him/her to think new Ideas and make new Inventions. It should Let us revamp the system to include these I’s and give the children a broad mindedness that would help in creating more harmony and better understanding and respect in the future generation.

P.S. I had done a post on why Creativity and Imagination were more important once before. Chose this topic again as this is something I believe in.

Written for ABC Wednesday

Comments
22 Responses to “I……”
  1. Nice. So, ‘I’ is all about Knowledge, Education.
    The I-words you mentioned, I used to listen them in every meeting or speech that goes in our college. 🙂

  2. Roger Green says:

    you need education AND imagination

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  3. Purba says:

    Our Education system lacks innovations. We need to develop a system which pushes the kids to think out of the box.

    And the education must start from the teachers. They have to be willing to learn.

    • snowleopard says:

      Things have to change. Without change the system stagnates.
      “The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior techer demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.” William Arthur Ward

  4. Reader Wil says:

    As a former teacher, I agree with you. The possibilities are great. I always tried to let students work in groups, but I had to prepare my lessons very well and provide all studends with the books,videos, tapes and other material to find their information. Now it’s Google where I find my information. Students can only learn when they are enthusiastic.

  5. jabblog uk says:

    Imagination and initiative are most important on a firm foundation of fact.

  6. LisaF says:

    There are teachers and then there are educators. You certainly sound like an educator to me. Lucky the student who learns from you.

  7. sandy says:

    I… Imagination!
    Intelligence, so if you mix both you can create wonders!!

    Agreed with your post patty ,even at 23 you are well matured . you can be a teacher 🙂

  8. delhizen says:

    I is also for individual- first the education system needs to understand that they are dealing with little but growing minds… and they need to be nurtured and not loaded with books meant to be cramped

  9. Denise says:

    As a school teacher I think any learning is 99% inspiration the knowledge comes as an extra!

    Denise
    ABC Team

Leave a Reply

