+1 candles = 23


I will be adding another candle to my cake this Sunday. It has been a very eventful journey so far since 23 years now and I hope it will continue for a few more. I still remember. It was a Saturday, 26th of September 1987. Around 0810 hrs on the clock. The place was Command Hospital, AFMC, Pune. And for the astrologically inclined….I am a Libra.

Don't be fooled. I was a very clever con artist. And thats a smirk. πŸ˜‰

I was not given a choice to take birth naturally. Personally I was quite comfortable and would have preferred to prolong my stay but the gynaecologist decided to forcefully pull me out….and the day for such deliveries was Saturday. It left quite a deep impact on me so much so that I now don’t use the door but prefer to go out of the house through the windows. But I did laugh at them when I arrived. The doctor was sure that it would be a girl and my parents had bought toys and clothes accordingly. They were a bit shocked to see me. I can truly say I started practicing con even before I entered the world.

I was less than a month old when I was bought to Delhi. Therefore, I also started traveling early in life. Pune to Delhi to Bathinda to Chandigarh to Jalandhar to Vaishno Devi and then Back to Delhi in the first 2 years of my existence. It was going to mirror in my personality

I have been pampered and spoiled as I was the only child. Birthday was a time when I would look forward to gifts and cards. Lots of cards. The volume has diminished now but still they come. I used to collect stamps and coins(the collection is still with me), so I particularly waited for the cards from my NRI relatives. The gifts I usually got were books so naturally I started reading young. It started with comics and then Enid Blyton to the classics(abridged initially) by the time I was celebrating my 8th birthday.

Celebrations meant huge parties in the bungalow lawn. The biggest was for my 7th birthday. I still remember the big ship shaped cake. There were more than a hundred guests including relatives.

The best thing about birthday parties was the number of gifts you received. Though most turned out to be useless but the excitement of opening the wrapper was fun. Later, I learned about a new trend. The birthday bumps. And birthdays became a big pain in the ass. It meant that you would be slobbered with eggs, cake, stale butter and then punched and kicked around. Worse still, you then had to treat your assailants since they were your friends and it was a friendly bashing, an acceptable practice. 7th standard onwards I got a new lease of life as my birthday fell during the middle term examinations and I was saved from the punches. Though they did take the party.

Thats me. About a few months ago. Clicked by Sappy in Begaluru

In college for the first two years, party meant lots of booze in the room of a PG(read not college hostel) dwelling class mate. And then half the guys were usually lying around somewhere. Thankfully I had the right senses not to drink so much that I puke, but I once did drink much and tried driving my motorcycle. I could hardly get the key inside the ignition switch and my language was a bit flowery if you know what I mean. But these were the cheapest birthday parties ever. The booze we got was from the local Wine and Beer shop and no one was interested in eating. So you ended up spending 600 bucks and it satisfied the party hunger of 40 guys.

Next two year in college, we realized that we were going on a wrong path. And then the parties again became an expensive treat in a fancy restaurant.

This year……lets see what happens.

Comments
47 Responses to “+1 candles = 23”
  1. Sapna says:

    Hmmm Patty you surely growing old. Proof is in your own words “I still remember”… From now on all your stories would start as Hume aaj bhi woh din yaad hai…. πŸ˜›

    Anyway Happy Advanced Bday πŸ™‚ I hope your birthday rocks this year too. And may the coming year bring loads of happiness in your life and possibly a GF too πŸ˜‰

    • snowleopard says:

      πŸ˜€ Now, what will you call events that happened 15 years ago? Thats recalling history. And no matter how old I become you guys will be older always πŸ˜‰

      Advanced thanks for the advanced wishes. Errr…about the girl friend…lets see what happens πŸ˜›

    • delhizen says:

      Sappy did I tell you he asked, if I cud introduce him to any nice gals ;)…

      • snowleopard says:

        Now did I? You were the one who said you will find one and not once. πŸ˜‰

      • delhizen says:

        Aww comeon- you always turn the tables and make it sound like you are the innocent one! pretender.

      • snowleopard says:

        Well you started it by asking me why I didn’t have a girl friend and I just asked you to find one for me. πŸ˜‰ Since it is a very difficult task so I guess thats why it is taking you so much time. πŸ˜›

      • Sapna says:

        I totally believe you Pallavi πŸ™‚

        @Prateek: u pretender!!! Now don’t blame me. You already agreed on that by saying you are a clever con artist πŸ˜‰

      • Snow Leopard says:

        You found a supporter Pal. It’s two against one now. I like it when the odds are stacked against me. The victory is sweeter πŸ˜‰

  2. Purba says:

    Well delivered..
    And puhleez don’t fool yourself into thinking, that you were actually smirking! You look like the cutest baby with the chweetest smile.

    This birthday, you are supposed to get drunk silly and put all the 50 year old’s to shame!

  3. delhizen says:

    I will wish you tom, else you will keep pestering me like you did just now for me to comment on this post πŸ™‚
    on a serious note, in this year and half that I have known you I have seen you transform from a boy into a mature young man… which means you have grown old πŸ˜‰

    PS: this comment should be considered equivalent to the b’day bumps

  4. Ankita says:

    Nicely summed up those ’23 years’.

    A day after we will be wishing you loads of wishes on CE.
    Have a blast. πŸ™‚

  5. Mayur says:

    Patty likes to talk about himself… and he does a lot. A true celebrity πŸ˜›

    Nice to read about you. I’ll call to wish you tomorrow.

  6. CIVILPRINCESS says:

    Happy Birthday!!!

    A nice read πŸ™‚ As ankita said we’ll be wishing you in CE tomorrow πŸ™‚

    have a great year ahead.

  7. nice to read all this.. wish u a very happy b’day dear.

  8. Many More Happy Returns of the Day!!
    Happy Birthday to you Patty!!
    As usual, Great post πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your day Pretender !! ha ha!!

  9. S.R.Ayyangar says:

    Wishing you all the best & happy blogging!

  10. Madhav says:

    Happy Birthday Prateek.

  11. sandy says:

    Happy Birthday Patty!!

    Superb post πŸ™‚

  12. Pooja says:

    The first picture… So cute!!!! πŸ˜€
    Mine’s quite a similar story sans the travelling and booze. Ok I guess it is not so similar anymore :P.

    Anyways, enjoyed reading your post, and Happy Birthday!!

  13. durga says:

    Belated wished πŸ˜›

    *dont balme- i wished in time over phone*

  14. Cheers…Hick….LOL
    What’s a B’day without a drink!…I guess staying within limits is the key…Happy birthday to you… you look great in both the pics…cute then and now too!

  15. smitzy says:

    LOL.. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! sorry cudnt leave a comment earlier.. bt then I’m sure u are familiar by now abt the sneaking around story πŸ™‚ I bet u were forgiven as a con man whenever anyone saw that cutesy smile πŸ™‚

    besties!
    Smitzy

  16. wow! Its an amazing journey you have shared with the viewers,so you have been a clever con artist ……great post and sorry its late but anyway belated happy birthday to you.

  17. Sheila Vaz says:

    Belated birthday wishes. I hope you had a good day and wish you all the best in the years to come.

  18. Magali says:

    OMG, I feel so bad I missed wishing you. I was kinda in a blogging rut, though that’s no excuse. Have I ever mentioned that you are incredibly smart for a 23 year old? And the picture of you is nice. Ray-Bans, me likey!

  19. BullsEye says:

    Sorry dude am late as always..Happy Belated birthday !! anyways the later you celebrate birthdays the better πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

