Music


Scientifically speaking, it is a harmonious symphony of longitudinal sound waves, which have a tune, a beat, rhythm, tempo, different notes etc. But there is something more to it than just merely notes between the audible range of human ear. Each type of music strikes a particular part of the brain that stimulates an emotion.

Music can make you cry and it can make you laugh. The roll of drums and a national tune fills the heart with pride. A dark tone with fear and anxiety. A toddler sleeps to the tunes of a soothing lullaby while the high notes in an opera can cause volcanoes to erupt. The bells and organ at a Gothic cathedral is different than the bells on the feet of a dancer.

Music spreads joy at a wedding. It meditates at a religious functions. It weeps at a funeral. It serenades on a Gondola. It dances in a club. Music transcends the barriers of caste, race and even species. It is a proven fact now that plants that are exposed to good music grow faster and healthier. Bird songs are famous throughout the world. Insects sing to call there would be mates. The pet sings when the master comes home.

It is everywhere and it comes naturally. Before speech was born, man knew how to sing. The mountains and sea shores are perfect places to hear the symphony of nature. The trees sway like chimes, the wind whistles, the flowing stream or the crashing sea waves provide the crescendo to Nature’s Opera.

What is it about Music and Melody that it unites people? A music and dance show is being held at a place near my house. Bands and groups have different countries have been coming and playing each day. I went there and I witnessed performances by bands and dance troupes from UK, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Botswana. And I saw the crowd going crazy. If written down, the Swahili songs would be as meaningful to us(where I live) as roller skates to a dead. But the addition of a tune and the dance steps of the traditional dancers, made all the difference.

While going through a long forgotten trunk, I rediscovered old cassettes and disks(no not the CD, the bigger ones) and some of my own collection that I had forgotten about. Some CDs have no words but just melodies. And it still beckons you. You can’t get enough of it. The Nepali and UK bands I saw were similar. They played melodies without words. And the tunes swept everyone away in a distant land of happiness. Each song was a different experience.

Talking of melodies, the Beating the Retreat program at Delhi that happens each year on 29th January is another example of what good music does to the senses. Symphonies of Mozart and Beethoven have a magic that cannot be described.

What is Music? It is the food for the soul. And as someone told me and I quote, β€œMusic is pulse. Music is life. Music makes me want to get through a day.”

PS Some other M’s I had in mind were Monkeys, Monty Python and Marx Brothers

ABC Wednesday

Comments
9 Responses to “Music”
  1. Mara says:

    You are right, music is very important. Although it can be scary as well. I used to be so scared when I heard the music to the film Christina. I don’t know how good the film was, I could never get past the first few minutes of that scary music! And large choirs almost make me cry, because it touches me so much.

  2. Roger Green says:

    i love singing, playing CDs…it’s my soul

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  3. Pzes says:

    As I said, Music is Pulse. πŸ™‚

  4. music helps me relax πŸ™‚
    even while studying i and my sister prefer some melodies playing. it’s just another passion for me πŸ™‚
    but pity me when i sing i doubt if it can be called music πŸ˜‰

  5. Purba says:

    Music makes me dream of the impossible…nice post Prats!

  6. Gattina says:

    It’s true that music is important, even for our health !

  7. Sapna says:

    Hmmm now add a nice musical clip to complete the post…

Leave a Reply

