Crayons..


This guest post has been written by Priyanka aka Pzes. Our first interaction was about a month ago when she commented on my post on Tea (It has only been a month!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ) A witty 20 something, lady from Bangalore who likes her city a lot and is a cool person to hang around with. ๐Ÿ™‚

“I have no art in my hands.” This line has been stuck in my head from forever! I was naive, to have thought that Art was limited to drawing and painting. I draw like my hands have been immersed in a bucket of ice. To make matters worse, the brushes that I picked up to paint with almost always slipped over the boundary lines. I gave it up, a couple of years ago, declaring that “I have no art in my hands”.

Ever since that happened, I’ve not rummaged around in the “art” cupboard much. Now that I have a little energetic nephew, I had to. I looked for a piece of chalk I left there, a couple of years ago. I unearthed those treasures, opening one box at a time. I found old geometry cases, a dissection kit, clips for my drawing board (bought for purely educational purposes), and there amongst them, lay a green box. I opened it to find a large collection of wax crayons.

Crayons, mind you, is mans 2nd best invention (after music), for a klutz like me. You only have to pick it up, and do the “scratch-scratch” motion on your paper, and voila!! You have your coloured picture, ready to frame. ( If you can’t handle this either, don’t ever try, lest you spoil your child’s project 10 years down the line). I also remembered my own secret (may not be much of a secret) tip to colouring a nice picture – the blade. I normally used the crayons to fill colours into my picture, and with a steel blade(normally stolen from dads shaving kit or my paper-cutter), hacked away gently at the colour, to reveal a nice, light, neat picture.

As those crayons lay there in that box, a thought struck me – Life’s really like a box of crayons. (read this somewhere) Forrest Gump said “Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get”. I’d rather stick to it being a box of crayons. Life has its happy moments, some blue, some green, and some very dark as well. You mix them up, by colouring on a page over and over again, just like you mix up your emotions. You use them to colour different shades of your picture, like life hands out different shades and challenges to you. The white crayon is a special favorite though – It simply takes on any color that it is put up against. It reminds me of a lesson life taught us – to be tolerant.

I spilled the crayons onto a sheet of paper, looking at them carefully. Since I’d left them in the little box, and each of them lay squashed against each other, I saw that they’d taken on each others hues. The oily stain of the colours seeped into the paper covering of every other crayon. I would’ve brushed it aside, without anything more than a glance, if I hadn’t noticed that my box had one dominant color which seeped onto the others – Yellow, the bright colour of happiness and warmth. Is life like this too? Where one dominant trait takes over your entire personality, leading you to be what you are? I sure do hope the “yellow-ness” of my personality spreads theย best too! Just like my very own box of crayons.

Which colour is your box of crayons reminiscent of?

Comments
22 Responses to “Crayons..”
  1. Purba says:

    Loved this post of yours Priyanka. Very well thought out.

  2. Pzes says:

    Thank You Pat-a-cake!

  3. wow! a cute and nice post pzes ๐Ÿ™‚
    i used to use a lot of crayons in school. but now i’ve given up crayons and i’m sticking to just pencil sketching. and even i used the technique you mentioned. i used blade if it was available or took a scale with sharp edges. ๐Ÿ˜€
    nice post. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Kartikay says:

    Pazeusous ji, I am extremely scared. A pack of crayons can move you so much!

    By the way, have you read about this: http://behindthecurtain.us/2010/06/12/my-first-week-with-the-iphone/ The blogger, who can not see, fired up an iPhone app that would speak out the colour it detects from its camera. A dash of colour made a huge difference in his life.

    • snowleopard says:

      Thanks for sharing the link. It was a pretty nice read and also encouraging. It will encourage new innovations that will further help people. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Pzes says:

      Wow Sahay! What a lovely story!

      And, You show me a pack of crayons the next time we meet, and watch me bawl over it ๐Ÿ˜€ deal?

      • Kartikay says:

        I’ll also get Colour-Me worksheet printouts of Super Why and Ben-10. You will be judged on:

        1. Colour choice
        2. Accuracy
        3. Consistency in colouring

        Deal.

  5. BullsEye says:

    Really liked the analogy with Forest Gump, Nice post ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. arpana says:

    good observation and well expressed!

  7. Mayur says:

    Nice one. Crayons are like the colours of our life.

  8. colours influence moods and I love plating with them…now my world is coloured by words…and every word has a taste and a texture too!…great post, liked the way you connected it to life.

  9. Sapna says:

    A very colourful post… ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Very nice post. Wonderful one.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Pzes , Prateek Varma. Prateek Varma said: Crayons.. : http://wp.me/pGkAT-dd […]



Leave a Reply

